9/11 Book: September Roses

Posted on Updated on

September Roses illustrated and written by Jeanette Winter

Ages 5 – 8, 40 pages (Very short book with about a sentence on each page with beautiful pictures)

As September 11th approaches, I wanted to highlight some children’s books that can be used to discuss the topic.

September Roses is a true story about two sisters from South Africa who grow roses. They traveled with over 2,000 roses to New York City for a flower show. Due to the attack on the World Trade Centers, the flower show cancelled and the sisters weren’t able to travel back to South Africa. So, they had no where to go and boxes of unused roses. However, there was a suggestion for how to use the roses. The sisters formed two towers of roses that helped others during this tragic situation.

The book does a good job lightly explaining what occurred without giving too much details for young ages. The story is lovely of how roses could help people’s emotion during a difficult time. The pictures are beautiful as they move from bright colors into darkness. It’s a good book to lead into discussion.

– opening page

As I looked down at the roses, a young man walked to where I stood and told me how they came to be there.

7 thoughts on “9/11 Book: September Roses

    Elizabeth Smith said:
    September 12, 2011 at 12:12 pm

    I TOTALLY by random picked this book out last month. Thinking maybe it was a poem book or something good to read for September. It was a nice sweet book for Trinity to read for school/homework. She’s been wanting to know more about 9/11 so I’m glad she picked it out to at least learn a lil story.

      Caroline responded:
      September 12, 2011 at 9:43 pm

      I never even heard of this great story until I researched 9/11 children’s book. I also thought it was a sweet book to get the general idea of what happened and there was a message of hope at the end. Thanks for your comment.

    My 100th Post! | Children's Books & More said:
    October 17, 2011 at 12:05 am

    […] Books for every mood and time Sour Patch Kid vs. Gummi Bear Weekly Photo Challenge: Textured September 11th book: September Roses   Personal Favorite Posts:  Book Smorgasbord A Book is Somebody’s Friend All Abroad the […]

    Caroline responded:
    September 11, 2013 at 10:14 am

    Reblogged this on Children's Books & More.

    michelle said:
    September 14, 2013 at 7:10 pm

    This book looks wonderful for when my girls are older. I was in NY during the attacks and to this day have a very hard time thinking about it let alone talking about it. I am going to need to find a way to talk to my girls one day, this might really come in handy.

      Caroline responded:
      September 15, 2013 at 11:04 am

      It’s a very difficult subject to discuss with children, but with the right books and environment it doesn’t have to be too fearful for them. I have some additional 9/11 children’s books (or for anyone) that I reviewed under table of contents and book reviews. Thanks for your comment.

    artificial grass farnham said:
    September 19, 2013 at 10:29 am

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I truly appreciate your efforts
    and I will be waiting for your next write ups thank you
    once again.

I'd love to hear from you! Have a great day!

