Quote: A book is somebody’s friend

Posted on Updated on

In the shop we buy and sell them, but in truth books have no owner. Every book you see here has been somebody’s best friend.

– Carlos Ruiz Zafon (The Shadow of the Wind)

Whenever I’m stuck on something to write I look to my quotations for inspiration. I absolutely loved The Shadow of the Wind that I read earlier this year. (There’s a reason it’s the top of my book recommendations.) It’s a book lover’s book with the mysteries inside each book. It almost seems like a crazy idea for a book to be somebody’s best friend, but ponder it for a moment. Walk into any used bookstore, library, or even a garage sale and you’ll find books that they have been loved at sometime in their life. I’m not including books from brand new stores, since they haven’t had time to live. I get excited about those books with the wrinkled edges and slightly worn pages. Where has this book been? Who has been its friend? Perhaps the book’s friend curled up reading in bed, another friend may have had a tissue box nearby, another friend wore out the book stroking its spine, another friend constantly carried it to read at a moment’s notice, or another friend read aloud for all to hear its message. The book changed hands and had a different significance and meaning to others. This is true for all books, since we have various preferences and each book means something new. A well-loved book gains endless friends whenever it is passed onto others.  I know when I finish a good book it feels as though I’ve lost a friend, however perhaps I’ll now examine that for a small moment my life was part of the book’s life. What books have been your good friend?

3 thoughts on “Quote: A book is somebody’s friend

    Neeks said:
    September 7, 2011 at 8:30 am

    What an awesome post! I love the idea that a book isn’t owned by anyone, and that it has been someone’s best friend. I have so many that I’ve loved over the years, thanks this was a real ‘feel good!’

      Caroline responded:
      September 7, 2011 at 9:33 am

      I’m glad my post was a ‘feel good’. I like to imagine that the book belongs to others and it doesn’t belong to us. Thanks for the comment.

    My 100th Post! | Children's Books & More said:
    October 17, 2011 at 12:05 am

    […] Textured September 11th book: September Roses   Personal Favorite Posts:  Book Smorgasbord A Book is Somebody’s Friend All Abroad the Hogwarts Express Books Take You Anywhere Book Review: The Boy Who Harnessed the […]

I'd love to hear from you! Have a great day!

