Book Review: The Giver by Lois Lowry

Posted on Updated on

giver2The Giver
Written by Lois Lowry
Published January 1, 1993
Genre/Topics:Dystopia, Science Fiction
Ages: 13+, 240 pages
Awards: Newbery Medal & others

Jonas lives in a perfect community. Everyone’s spouse, occupation, and children are carefully chosen for each individual. People in the Community do not know pain, war, or even love. They live in a world of Sameness where nobody gives others attention, positive or negative. In the Community, individuals feel safe and this world is all they know.

When Jonas turns twelve he attends the ceremony to determine his role in the Community. He’s signaled out and chosen to be The Receiver who gains all memories, pain and pleasure, from The Giver. He now receives special training as The Giver shares all memories only to Jonas. Jonas now learns the truth about what occurred in the Community’s past.

I read The Giver way back in middle school and disliked the book. Recently, someone was shocked and wanted me to read it again. I read The Giver again and loved it. I don’t think I fully understood the book’s story and message. I suggest The Giver for older ages to have a good discussion. I think The Giver is much more than a standard dystopia that’s so common today. The Giver is the first book in the The Giver Quartet Series. Later this year, The Giver will be released as a motion picture. I’m not sure the movie can match the book, but isn’t that always the case? I recommend The Giver.

 

 
 
4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Giver by Lois Lowry

    thiskidreviewsbooks said:
    July 10, 2014 at 8:10 am

    I read this book about a year ago, and I enjoyed it. It was strange, but good. I then found the second book at my library and read it. 🙂

      Caroline responded:
      July 10, 2014 at 6:16 pm

      What did you think of the second book? I started but stopped. Maybe I’ll read the four books another time. Glad you liked the book.

        thiskidreviewsbooks said:
        July 11, 2014 at 4:03 am

        At first I was confused, but then I realized, (I think) that it went forward in time. It was a good story besides that. 🙂

    Book Review: “The Giver” | The Cheap Reader said:
    July 18, 2014 at 5:52 am

    […] Book Review: The Giver by Lois Lowry […]

I'd love to hear from you! Have a great day!

