Caroline Rambles: Toothpaste & Cough Syrup

Posted on Updated on

If you know me, you know I have many random thoughts that I share. Although, for some reason people don’t like when I share these important thoughts. Perhaps you’ll find them humorous.

So I’ve recently been a little sick and this morning I woke with a terrible cough. It was time for some medicine. I opened the medicine cabinet to many overwhelming choices. I decided on just a basic cough medicine that supposedly tasted like pineapple. It didn’t. Unfortunately, I used all the portion and wouldn’t have enough in 4-6 hours. I went on a trip to my local Target for other items too.

Before I could travel down the sick aisle, I needed to buy more toothpaste. It always amazes me that there’s a whole aisle dedicated to just toothpaste! Do I want extra whitening, cavity protection, fresh breath, foaming sensation, or a sensitive choice? One item caught my eye: ‘Be Adventurous’. I’ve recently become slightly more adventurous. (I just enjoyed a delicious hummus sandwich.) So I picked up this ‘adventurous’ toothpaste to discover a new flavor: chocolate mint. Yes, you heard correctly, chocolate mint. Now, I’m a chocolate lover but I’m not sure it belongs in my toothpaste. However, there’s still a fresh mint taste. I decided it was too adventurous. Finally, price won the battle decision. I bought a two pack for the price of one with all the perks. Score! Now off to get my cough syrup.

Another aisle dedicated to wellness. I can understand, because there’s so many different sicknesses. I found cough syrups, but was faced with more decisions. What kind of cough do I have? Does anywhere else hurt? Is there also mucus when I cough? I almost hope I cough at that moment to help decide which is best. I then pick up bottles to compare ingredients (drugs?) as though I’m a doctor. Ah, this one has this drug but if I’m in pain I need this drug too. Hmm, too many decisions. I then notice the ‘flavors’. There’s cherry, orange, tropical, and original. ‘Original’ flavor scares me. Does it mean the original gross flavor to make me more sick? The great news is that many are gluten free. I never even knew gluten was an issue in medicines. I finally decided I have a slight headache and stuffy nose so I went with the cold/cough. Oh, I hope I picked the right choice. I guess I’ll find out soon.

I hope my rambling thoughts didn’t annoy or bore you too much. I’m off to drink liquids and rest.

*Update: The original flavor does indeed make you feel more sick.

2 thoughts on “Caroline Rambles: Toothpaste & Cough Syrup

    thiskidreviewsbooks said:
    June 14, 2014 at 8:32 am

    I hope you get better! 🙂

      Caroline responded:
      June 14, 2014 at 9:20 am

      Thanks, I think the medicine and rest is working. 🙂

I'd love to hear from you! Have a great day!

