Writing 101 Challenge: 3 Meaningful Songs

Posted on Updated on

‘Write about the three most important songs in your life — what do they mean to you?’

So, I’m taking to pen & paper again w/ this challenge. Those curious my writing is exactly the same typed – no changes.

Today I’m supposed to freely write about 3 songs that are most important in my life. Hmmm, that’s a problem since there’s so many great songs.

I always scanned the radio then stated “I wish there was a Caroline station”. No station fed my music feeling. Well, then I got an iPod so I every playlist is my own ‘station’. Which station & song gets me excited or means so much to me?

The first song I thought about was a Christmas song. (Yes, Christmas in June.) ‘Feliz Navidad’. It’s a simple thing that yes repeats, but has a fun beat to me. I often sing it in my head.

My next song ‘The Way You Make Me Feel’ by Michael Jackson. The song makes me feel alive. Of course, I picture myself wearing heels. Hmm, I think the shoes are red, high heels that tie around my ankles. Not exactly me, but that’s why I enjoy the song. I can be that woman.

And my last song would be ‘Footloose’. Okay, I felt pressured w/ time but it always gets my feet moving. What’s better than ‘Footloose’ playing loud in the car w/the windows down after a long day?! (Of course, my feet stay stable while driving.) I even had a dance routine to ‘Footloose’ in high school. No, I don’t think I’ll show it.

I’m going to try a fast brain write every day. The 101 challenge is a fun way to write more!

4 thoughts on “Writing 101 Challenge: 3 Meaningful Songs

    thiskidreviewsbooks said:
    June 5, 2014 at 3:38 pm

    I love those songs! Great reasons too (and, a couple of days ago, “There’s No Place Like Home For The Holidays” popped into my head)! My answer (short version) would be: “Stand By Me” – Ben E. King; “Mamma Mia” – ABBA (don’t ask); “Superstitious” – Stevie Wonder 😉 ).

      Caroline responded:
      June 5, 2014 at 8:12 pm

      Your songs are all different types too. It’s funny how certain songs make us happy. You have me wondering about Mamma Mia.

        thiskidreviewsbooks said:
        June 6, 2014 at 3:51 am

        Mostly the “Here we go again” line. Plus, I just like the sound of the piano. 🙂 And ABBA’s great, too. 🙂

    Arnab said:
    June 9, 2014 at 7:37 am

    My three meaningful songs would be “Blowin’ in the Wind” by Bob Dylan, The Journeymen’s “500 Miles” and “Sinnerman” by Nina Simone.

I'd love to hear from you! Have a great day!

