Help! I Need a Book that Hooks Me!

Posted on Updated on

Recently, I’ve had difficulty finding a book that keeps my attention. I start a book then quickly lose interest. Perhaps I’m not giving enough time and effort to determine whether I want to read a book. Last weekend I went to a used bookstore in the hopes that a book would scream from the shelf ‘read me, read me!’ Sadly after spending an hour at the bookstore, no book hooked me. I then thought perhaps I’d visit an old friend and reread a book. Readers gain insight each time the book is read again. This almost worked, but I still wasn’t fully hooked into a book. Here are some recent titles that I started then stopped: Divergent, Catcher in the Rye, Jane Eyre, To Kill a Mockingbird, and Oleander Girl. I’m even embarrassed to say that I didn’t read my last book club book, however I still attended to eat and greet.

I need YOUR help. What books do you suggest to hook me?

hook

4 thoughts on “Help! I Need a Book that Hooks Me!

    NW Frame of Mind said:
    September 11, 2013 at 9:52 am

    I’m looking for a new “hook” too… it’s been a dry spell!

      Caroline responded:
      September 11, 2013 at 9:58 am

      Maybe the weather is just too nice! Let me know when you find your book that hooks you.

    thiskidreviewsbooks said:
    September 11, 2013 at 2:29 pm

    How about “Redwall” by Brian Jacques? That has a lot of action that starts within the first 5 chapters! 😀

I'd love to hear from you! Have a great day!

