Book Review: Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosnay

Posted on Updated on

sarah's keySarah’s Key 

Written by Tatiana de Rosnay
Published by St. Martin’s Press on January 1, 2006
Genre/Topics: Adult, Historical Fiction, Holocaust, France 
294 pages 
 

Three Word Review: Heartbreak, Tragedy, Secrecy

Sarah’s Key surrounds two individuals and time periods: Sarah a ten-year-old Jewish girl in 1942, and Julia an American Journalist in 2002. Both stories begin in Paris, France. Julia begins research on the sixtieth anniversary of the  Vel’ d’ Hiv‘. The Vel’d’Hiv’ Roundup was a mass arrest upon  13,152 Jewish men, women, and children in July 1942 by the French police. Julia discovers that many French citizens are either unaware of the tragic event or deny it. Sarah’s family was arrested and taken to the Vélodrome d’Hiver (indoor cycle track) where they lived in terrible conditions before being sent to death camps. During the arrest, Sarah told her younger brother Michael to hide in the cupboard and she would return to free him with the key. Julia discovers a secret connection to Sarah and is determined to learn all the facts. However, during her research into Sarah’s past she begins to question her own life. Sarah’s Key is filled with heartbreak through Sarah’s and Julia’s eyes. 

I enjoyed Sarah’s Key, but at times I thought it was a little predictable. It highlights a small tragic event through the eyes of a young girl. I think Sarah’s Key would be a great discussion for a book club.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosnay

    Lisa said:
    April 17, 2013 at 6:26 pm

    I’m reading this right now and almost finished. I’ve really enjoyed it but agree that it’s a bit predictable at times

      Caroline responded:
      April 18, 2013 at 7:31 pm

      I thought it was a good book. Let me know what you think.

    thiskidreviewsbooks said:
    April 18, 2013 at 5:04 pm

    Is this book appropriate for my age (11)? I think I’d like to read it.

      Caroline responded:
      April 18, 2013 at 7:28 pm

      I don’t think this would be appropriate, since there are some adult issues. Thanks for making this comment, because normally I state if it’s an adult book. I know I can find other great books on the subject.

I'd love to hear from you! Have a great day!

