Craft Project: Book Journal

Posted on Updated on

A few days ago I discussed keeping a book journal of books I have read. I planned to review the books and think about what I gained or learned. Recently, I made a book journal to write how I felt after reading the book. If you haven’t tried mod podge you are missing out.

Stage 1: Plain wire notebook about 3″ x 5″ with a plastic cover for extra strength.
Stage 2: I used my favorite ‘reading’ quotes and printed then cut carefully, so each would fit onto the notebook cover. I kept the words together with plain tape. This took the most time.
Stage 3: I copied the quotes onto colored card stock paper, which is a tad thicker. Next, I cut each quote with a paper-cutter to get it more even.
This is the preparations to mod podge. I used newspaper, glue-like substance on a plate, and a foam-like paint brush.
Stage 4: Apply a thin layer of the glue-like substance onto the notebook then put the quotes carefully where you would like them positioned. I practiced beforehand to make sure I knew where they would fit.
Stage 5: Apply a thin coat of glue-like substance onto the entire surface after each has been placed. You then need to wait a few hours to let it dry. I waited overnight.

You can’t read them clearly, but I highlighted each quote in the past. Now that I have my book journal I need to actually use it. Have you ever kept track of the books you’ve read? How do you move from one book to the next?

A few favorite ‘reading’ quotes:

In the case of good books the point is not to see how many of them you can get through; but rather how many can get through to you.

– Mortimer J. Adler

You know you’ve read a good book when you turn the last page and feel a little as if you have lost a friend.

– Paul Sweeney

You can travel the world and never leave your chair when you read a book.

– Sherry K. Plummer

Good books, like good friends, are few and chosen; the more select, the more enjoyable.

– Louisa May Alcott

If you don’t like to read, you haven’t found the right book.

– J. K. Rowling

6 thoughts on “Craft Project: Book Journal

    atreegrowsinbklyn said:
    June 21, 2012 at 7:40 pm

    Nice idea for gift giving with unique quotes selected for the recipient

      Caroline responded:
      June 22, 2012 at 11:35 am

      I thought looking at the quotes would inspire me. Thanks for stopping by!

    thiskidreviewsbooks said:
    June 22, 2012 at 6:59 am

    Great activity! I like the quotes! I can make out the name Abraham Lincoln in the bottom pic. 🙂

      Caroline responded:
      June 22, 2012 at 11:36 am

      It was fun to do and you should give the mod podge a try sometime. 🙂 Thanks for your comment!

    babyjill7...Marilyn Griffin said:
    June 22, 2012 at 1:23 pm

    love doing the handmade thing…I decorated my “Idea Box” for my blog idfeas…but, sometimes forget to put the ideas in it…Oh, well…You’ve made me remember…so I’m going to try and use it more…Thanks…~mkg

      Caroline responded:
      June 22, 2012 at 1:25 pm

      Oh an idea box that sounds like a fun and creative project! Hopefully, you have paper near to write your ideas. Thanks for stopping by!

I'd love to hear from you! Have a great day!

