A Journal for Book Thoughts?

Posted on Updated on

I read some of my earlier blog posts to gain inspiration about what to write next. It somewhat sadden me, because I discovered that my posts now hardly have any writing.  This isn’t necessarily a bad thing, because my blog has grown to have a focus. However, I also miss sharing my general thoughts. I wrote a post from September, about what I should read next. Sometimes I can’t match my next book to the greatness of my finished book, so I thought of an idea.

I love reading and always want a book to read, but perhaps it’s okay to not be reading a book at all times. ‘Gasp’, I’m not sure that’s actually possible for me. I’ve written in a general journal to share my own thoughts and feelings although it’s never been constant. I got an idea from a reader’s comment. (Yes, I do read each and every comment.) It’s okay to reflect upon the book. What made the book so spectacular that I couldn’t stop reading? Why did I become sad when I finished the book? Why do I have such a difficult time finding my next book to read? I keep a small notebook of books I’ve read, would like to read, and reading quotations. However, I don’t have a notebook to reflect and write about the book. I was asked to write papers and essays about books in school, so why should that change. I think I’ll begin a book thought journal to write both positive and negative things about what I thought about the book. Reading helps us grow, so how did the book change me?

Please give me your thoughts about book reflections. Do you also keep a record of what you’ve read? How do you reflect about books?

 

7 thoughts on “A Journal for Book Thoughts?

    Zen said:
    June 18, 2012 at 12:44 pm

    I find Goodreads to be a great place to record the things I’ve read. When I first registered I had so much fun finding titles I’d read and rating them. Recently I’ve been leaving reviews. Though I only tend to do that when the book catches my attention enough… regardless of whether it was in a good way or a bad way.

      Caroline responded:
      June 18, 2012 at 9:13 pm

      Yes, I also love Goodreads! I don’t leave too many reviews from the books I’ve read, instead I just keep track of what I’ve read. I like their additional aspects with quotations, recommendations, book discussions. Thanks for your comment!

    Kit74 said:
    June 18, 2012 at 12:59 pm

    I think you should go for it! I have never tried it before, but it seems like a good idea. Whenever you want to go back and look at all the books you’ve read, you can see what you felt like after reading the book and you can recommend good books to other people that you might have forgotten about. I think I might try this! 🙂

      Caroline responded:
      June 18, 2012 at 9:20 pm

      I think I’m going to attempt my idea. My journal reviews will be short and just for myself. I always love giving new suggestions and keeping track with information can help. Thanks for your comment!

    babyjill7...Marilyn Griffin said:
    June 20, 2012 at 5:29 am

    Why not…Sounds like something you love…and a great way to keep track of your thoughts on all those wonderful reads…I envy all of the information and delight you have received from your passion of reading…I too like to read…but, I have to say it is hit and miss …Read a book a week…and then I don’t for while… my attention turns to other things… But, everyone’s passions are different…Nice post…~mkg

      Caroline responded:
      June 20, 2012 at 4:26 pm

      I’ve always kept track of books I have read, but sometimes don’t remember what the book was about. I often feel sad when I finish a great book, since I became attached to it. I want to express to myself how I felt about the book. I plan to make a book journal. Yes, everyone has their own passions. Thanks for your comment!

    […] few days ago I discussed keeping a book journal of books I have read. I planned to review the books and think about what I gained or learned. Recently, I […]

I'd love to hear from you! Have a great day!

