J.K. Rowling Announces Book Title: ‘The Casual Vacancy’

Posted on Updated on

Publication Date: September 27, 2012

Book Description:

When Barry Fairweather dies unexpectedly in his early forties, the little town of Pagford is left in shock. Pagford is, seemingly, an English idyll, with a cobbled market square and an ancient abbey, but what lies behind the pretty façade is a town at war. Rich at war with poor, teenagers at war with their parents, wives at war with their husbands, teachers at war with their pupils…. Pagford is not what it first seems. And the empty seat left by Barry on the town’s council soon becomes the catalyst for the biggest war the town has yet seen. Who will triumph in an election fraught with passion, duplicity and unexpected revelations? Blackly comic, thought-provoking and constantly surprising, The Casual Vacancy is J.K. Rowling’s first novel for adults.

 

Price: $19.99 eBook and $21.00 Hardback

Personally, I love J.K. Rowling so I’m excited about her new book. Deep down I may always want another Harry Potter book, but I understand that the series is over. However, at that price I think I may wait and read the book from my library. What are you thoughts about her new book?
Related articles:
9 thoughts on “J.K. Rowling Announces Book Title: ‘The Casual Vacancy’

    Just Ramblin' Pier said:
    April 12, 2012 at 9:13 pm

    I am looking forward to seeing what this is all about. : )

      Caroline responded:
      April 12, 2012 at 9:18 pm

      I’m crossing my fingers that it will be a success! Thanks for stopping by!

        Just Ramblin' Pier said:
        April 12, 2012 at 9:33 pm

        You are welcome. I enjoy your blog and am also hoping that the book is a success. Have to admit Harry will be a tough act to follow. : )

    Michelle Isenhoff said:
    April 13, 2012 at 6:05 am

    I just saw mention of this book yesterday. I admit I’m curious, but I’m also doubtful. I think the book will sell, because, good grief, who’s more famous? But I doubt that she can duplicate the kind of success she had with Harry.

      Caroline responded:
      April 13, 2012 at 3:11 pm

      I agree, I’m sure the book will be a success due to who the author is but I’m not sure if it will soar as high as Harry Potter. However, she may want to start fresh.

    imakeeper said:
    April 13, 2012 at 6:30 am

    I LITERALLY just read about this in the paper… and I was shocked! I had no idea she was working on another novel… but I am excited to read it, mostly out of curiousity and see how it differs from Wizard stories.

      Caroline responded:
      April 13, 2012 at 3:14 pm

      I’m also curious to see how her writing differs from fantasy. Will I read her new book? Yes, I’m very excited! Thanks for stopping by!

    shelovestoread said:
    April 13, 2012 at 8:36 am

    I cant wait to read this, i am please she has taken a huge step away from Harry, but i wouldnt say no to more in the series 🙂

      Caroline responded:
      April 13, 2012 at 3:16 pm

      I also wouldn’t say no to another Harry Potter book. Perhaps telling what they each do in life or about their parents. I’m happy that she’s breaking away. Thanks for your comment!

I'd love to hear from you! Have a great day!

