Book Review: Eggs by Jerry Spinelli

Posted on Updated on

Eggs 

Written by Jerry Spinelli 
Published June 1, 2007 by Little, Brown Young Readers
Ages: 10+ 
224 pages 
Topics: Death, Friendship, Dysfunctional Families
 

David is nine years old who lives with his grandmother since his mother died in an accident. He takes his frustrations out on his grandmother and doesn’t have any friends. He always follows the rules, since his mother’s death was caused by someone who didn’t follow the rules.

Primrose is thirteen years old who lives with her fortune-teller mother and her own ‘room’ is an old vehicle that she hopes to beautify. People often egg her ‘room’, but she tries not to take it too personal. She’s not sure who her father is and often pretends to be someone else.

David’s first encounter with eggs is when he’s dragged to an Easter egg hunt with his grandmother. David finds an egg, but after a second glance he notices that the egg was resting on lips. This is the first time he meets Primrose, yet he believes she’s dead.

David and Primrose begin unlikely friendship. David now sneaks out late as Primrose takes him ‘shopping’, which is actually searching through trash to sell items at a flea market. David knows he’ll never get into trouble since his grandmother won’t tell his father even if she does notice him gone. Primrose also doesn’t tell her mother about her late night shopping trips, since her own mother often isn’t thinking straight. David and Primrose often yell their frustrations at each other, but they gradually help each other with their own personal struggles.

I had difficulties with Eggs, because I honestly don’t think a nine and thirteen year old who aren’t siblings, neighbors, or attend the same school would become friends. However, they are never truly friends instead they both come from slightly dysfunctional families and together they slowly realize how to live through their pain and heal in the process.  Personally, I don’t think this was Jerry Spinelli’s best book. I suggest Maniac Magee for a great read.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Eggs by Jerry Spinelli

    thiskidreviewsbooks said:
    March 15, 2012 at 5:03 am

    I like your honest review. I haven’t read Jerry Spinelli’s books but I am a fan of his wife’s Eileen Spinelli’s books. Maybe they were friends because they were from kind of similar situations and didn’t have other friends? I’m going to try Maniac Magee!

      Caroline responded:
      March 16, 2012 at 9:37 pm

      Well, I try to tell readers my honest opinion about whether I enjoyed the book. True, they didn’t really have others to be their friend. I think you’ll like “Maniac Magee”. Let me know what you think. Thanks for visiting! 🙂

    orples said:
    March 15, 2012 at 9:13 am

    I appreciate the honesty in your reviews, Caroline. I am looking forward to you thoughts on my own books once you’ve read them. This book in a way, parallels my first book, only because the story begins with the loss of Jack’s mother (one of my characters), which in turn sets the stage for my story. I think books such as these open children’s minds to the events that other children face in their own lives.

      Caroline responded:
      March 16, 2012 at 9:43 pm

      I like sharing my personal beliefs from reading, so hopefully other readers can gain something from it. True, horrible events can occur in children’s lives and books let them face it. I look forward to reading your books. Thanks for stopping by.

I'd love to hear from you! Have a great day!

