Book Review: If You’ll Be My Valentine

Posted on Updated on

If You’ll Be My Valentine

Written by Cynthia Rylant
Illustrated by Fumi Kosaka
Published December 1, 2005 by Harper Trophy 
Ages: 4-6, 32 pages 

 

If You’ll Be My Valentine begins each page with ‘If you’ll be my valentine…” then it gives a loving message that relates to the page. For example, a cat receives a scratch behind the ears, a dog gets to lick feet, a friend/sibling gets a story read to them, and a bird receives a song. There are a total of eleven unique Valentine messages. If You’ll Be My Valentine isn’t exactly a story, but it’s a cute book for young ages to appreciate and love all things and people. I also enjoyed this book, because the wording has a smooth flow and somewhat rhymes.

 
 

 

 
 
 
6 thoughts on “Book Review: If You’ll Be My Valentine

    Claudine Gueh said:
    February 8, 2012 at 6:18 pm

    Oh, this book sounds very sweet. I just couldn’t help smiling at those pictures!

    Claudine
    (I’m popping by from Erik’s blog. 🙂 )
    http://www.carryusoffbooks.com/blog.html

      Caroline responded:
      February 14, 2012 at 8:43 am

      It’s a cute and sweet book that rhymes. Thanks for visiting. 🙂 (I enjoy Erik’s blog too.)

    island traveler said:
    February 9, 2012 at 4:17 am

    I will sure melt a lot of hearts. Beautiful story with warmth and humor in it. Again, my son would love this. I bet he can totally relate with the “if you’ll be my Valentine…” quote since he’s recently exchanging with his special “girl” friend. Makes me smile. Best wishes.

      Caroline responded:
      February 14, 2012 at 8:42 am

      It’s an adorable book for anyone who cares or loves someone even if it’s just a teddy bear. That’s so sweet for your son to have a young girl friend. 🙂 Thanks for your comments.

    jakesprinter said:
    February 9, 2012 at 4:02 pm

    Great Review for the day of love 🙂

      Caroline responded:
      February 14, 2012 at 8:42 am

      Thanks it’s a sweet book.

I'd love to hear from you! Have a great day!

