Book Review: The 39 Clues Series

Posted on Updated on

The 39 Clues Series
Written by Rick RiordanGordon KormanPeter LerangisJude WatsonPatrick Carman, Linda Sue Park , Margaret Peterson Haddix 
Published: 2008-2010 by Scholastic 
Ages: 9 + Genre: Adventure, Mystery, Suspense 
 

I’m surprised it took me so long to discover the exciting adventures in The 39 Clues. I’ve only read the first book, but I think it has potential for an exciting series. When a relative dies, Dan and Amy Cahill are given the opportunity to take a million dollars or take the first clue that leads them on dangerous hunt to discover the source of the family’s power. Dan and Amy are practically like orphans, since their parents died when they were young and their old aunt hires au pairs. I enjoyed this book for several reasons. The perspectives switch between Dan and Amy, so both boys and girls can view themselves on the hunt for clues. There is a strong and positive sibling connection as they work together, but there’s still humor and normal teasing between brother and sister. The 39 Clues explores secrets and knowledge from the past, since the Cahill family has been powerful throughout history. Readers learn about historic events and important individuals, such as Benjamin Franklin, without being boring. The first book, The Maze of Bonesliterally was a cliff hanger that gets you ready for the next book.

The books themselves are great, but the reader becomes more involved through online interactions and collecting trading cards. You become an agent and attempt to solve clues. One thing I didn’t like was that you needed to put the card’s code that came with the book to gain further access online. Well, I didn’t have a card since I read the book from the library. Individuals sort themselves into the Cahill family with a mini quiz. I’m on the Ekaterina branch. Another great thing about this series is that it’s written by multiple authors. The hope is that readers will discover new authors to enjoy after reading The 39 Clues. 

www.the39clues.com

www.scholastic.com/teachthe39clues

tout

9 thoughts on “Book Review: The 39 Clues Series

    dadirri7 said:
    January 20, 2012 at 12:05 am

    this sounds terrific, thank you caroline for all the trouble and care you take in your very informative blog!

      Caroline responded:
      January 20, 2012 at 9:31 am

      I’m happy that you find my blog helpful and informative. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by.

    dadirri7 said:
    January 20, 2012 at 3:34 am

    hi again … i am glad to offer you the One Lovely Blog award to enjoy …. congratulations! see here http://dadirridreaming.wordpress.com/2012/01/20/more-awards/

      Caroline responded:
      January 20, 2012 at 9:32 am

      Thanks for the award. 🙂

    On Our Bookshelves… | The Lit Witch: A Book Blog said:
    January 20, 2012 at 6:28 am

    […] Book Review: The 39 Clues Series (passion2read.wordpress.com) […]

    Michelle Isenhoff said:
    January 20, 2012 at 6:39 am

    Erik (thiskidreviewsbooks) loves this series too. I need to read a few of them.

    I see you’re reading Elise Stokes’ Cassidy Jones series. I enjoyed those!

      Caroline responded:
      January 20, 2012 at 9:34 am

      Yes, I thought this is a delightful series. I actually got the Cassidy Jones book suggestion from Erik. It’s great how bloggers communicate and share ideas. 🙂 Thanks for your comment.

    thiskidreviewsbooks said:
    January 20, 2012 at 5:46 pm

    As Mrs. Isenhoff said I LOVE THESE BOOKS!!! I like the new series too ; Cahills vs. Vespers! I get lots of good ideas off of your blog too 🙂

      Caroline responded:
      January 22, 2012 at 10:48 am

      It looked like there were more books after this series. I’m happy you get ideas from my blog. Thanks for your comment! 🙂

I'd love to hear from you! Have a great day!

