Book Review: The Hunger Games

Posted on Updated on

The Hunger Games

Written by Suzanne Collins 
Published: 2008 by Scholastic 
Young Adult,  Science Fiction, 374 pages
 

I always love book recommendations and The Hunger Games was mentioned more than once. I now understand why individuals love the series. Imagine a world that is no longer North America that is instead Panem, which is divided into twelve districts. The Capitol controls the districts by forcing one boy and one girl aged twelve to eighteen into the annual Hunger Games where they conquer until death. The entire match is televised until only one child is left. Yes, this book is not for those with a weak heart. It’s almost as though the nation is watching the Olympics, except the stakes are more extreme. Throughout The Hunger Games, individuals battle against each other with various difficulties, such as the climate and limited resources. Some districts are more favored to win as they have better resources and coached their youth at a young age. The winning district earns rewards. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen finds herself in the Hunger Games after she takes her sister’s place. Katniss has personal experience in survival, but is it enough to last until the end? The Hunger Games is more than just fighting until death as the youth face humanity and life challenges.

12 thoughts on “Book Review: The Hunger Games

    anilbalan said:
    January 8, 2012 at 6:51 am

    Great post and site! I wondered if you might be interested in reviewing one of my novels?

    http://anilbalan.com/

      Caroline responded:
      January 8, 2012 at 2:02 pm

      I’m glad you enjoy my blog! What are your novels about? Thanks for your comment.

        anilbalan said:
        January 8, 2012 at 2:16 pm

        I write ghost stories and my latest book is an anthology of them – interested?

    Michelle Isenhoff said:
    January 8, 2012 at 9:43 am

    I read this entire series in a week last summer! Can’t wait for the movie (March 23)!

      Caroline responded:
      January 8, 2012 at 10:22 am

      It should be an exciting movie, if they do it correctly. I’m now on a long list to read the second book from the library.

    thiskidreviewsbooks said:
    January 8, 2012 at 10:57 am

    I keep hearing about these book. My mom wants to read them first to make sure they are ok for my age. I’ll have to remind her to read them…

      Caroline responded:
      January 8, 2012 at 12:05 pm

      It’s a good series, but they are a little graphic since death does occur and it’s often not pleasant. That’s great that your mom reads books that interest you. Too many times parents just say no or don’t want to discover more info about them. Thanks for your comment & happy reading !

    russelllindsey said:
    January 8, 2012 at 12:32 pm

    I LOVE the series. Have you read the other two books yet? Great stuff. I just learned that the Hunger Games movie will be coming out in March. Katniss and Prim are two of my favorite characters at the moment, along with Peeta. The series gets even better as it goes along.

    Lindsey

      Caroline responded:
      January 8, 2012 at 12:57 pm

      I haven’t read the other two books yet. I read half of “Catching Fire”, but then stopped to read something else. I’m on the library hold list to finish the series. I wonder how good the movie will be. Thanks for stopping by.

        russelllindsey said:
        January 9, 2012 at 6:33 pm

        You’re welcome. I borrowed a digital copy of the trilogy on my Nook. I truly feel in love with the series. There is no way I could have waited for the next book. It is interesting to note that all of the books can easily stand on their own. Readers are rewarded for reading all of the books though. I don’t know how the situation could ever get more complex than it did at the end of Mockingjay. There is little room for book four, IMHO.

        Lindsey

    My date: Part one | melanie's blog said:
    January 8, 2012 at 6:25 pm

    […] Book Review: The Hunger Games (passion2read.wordpress.com) […]

    […] Book Review: The Hunger Games (passion2read.wordpress.com) […]

I'd love to hear from you! Have a great day!

