2012 Reading & Blog Goals (and my 200th post!)

Posted on Updated on

In 2011, I challenged myself to write a blog post every day. I didn’t start my blog until July, but I somehow still managed to post daily. Sometimes it was a struggle to plan ahead and schedule posts for each day, so I decided to change that for this year. I’m no longer going to attempt a blog post every day. Instead, 2012 is going to focus upon quality vs. quantity. I want to enjoy writing book reviews and not feel rushed. My goal is to write quality posts about four times a week. I wonder if I can get 100 blog subscribers by the end of 2012? Of course, it doesn’t matter how many readers I have. I’m also starting 2012 as my 200th post!! I can hardly believe it.

When I read it’s almost a personal race to see how many books I can read. However, you shouldn’t race and force yourself to read a book quickly. A book should be savored and slowly tasted. I’m not looking for average or good books to read, instead I’m hoping to find great books. Books shouldn’t be read just to check off a list. I think this quotation by Mortimer J. Adler describes how books should be enjoyed:  In the case of good books, the point is not to see how many of them you can get through, but rather how many can get through to you.”  In 2012, I plan to not look how long I’ve been reading a book and just enjoy my time reading. I’m always searching for my next book. What are your book suggestions?

Potential Books for 2012:

Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy
East of Eden by John Steinbeck
One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel García Márquez
The Millennium Trilogy by Stieg Larsson
Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen
The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot
In Cold Blood by Truman Capote
The Dressmaker of Khair Khana by Gayle Tzemach Lemmon
Little Princes: One Man’s Promise to Bring Home the Lost Children of Nepal by Conor Grennan
Chomp by Carl Hiaasen
The Chronicles of Narnia Series by C.S. Lewis
The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick
The BFG by Roald Dahl
 
Read Again:
The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling
Little Women by Louisa May Alcott 
A Dog’s Purpose by W. Bruce Cameron
To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee 
 

What are your books for 2012?

 
13 thoughts on “2012 Reading & Blog Goals (and my 200th post!)

    thiskidreviewsbooks said:
    January 1, 2012 at 6:54 am

    If you are going to read Hugo Cabret, you should also read Wonderstruck (the story is even better and Hugo was AWESOME). Two of the best stories I read this year were Floors by Patrick Carman and Moon Over Manifest by Claire Vanderpool.
    Here’s some of my TBR list –
    A wrinkle in time, Old Yeller, Where I live (Eileen Spinelli), The house of power (Patrick Carman), The Count of Monte Cristo, and I HAVE TO FINISH 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea (I’ve been trying to read the unabridged version and am almost done but never seem to pick it back up and it’s an awwesome story)!!
    HAPPY 2012!

    […] 2012 Reading & Blog Goals (passion2read.wordpress.com) […]

    Caroline responded:
    January 1, 2012 at 3:04 pm

    Thanks for the great recommendations! I remember reading your review for Wonderstruck. A Wrinkle in Time is a great book! You won’t be disappointed with The Count of Monte Cristo. That’s funny, because I wanted to read 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea. Perhaps you can tell me all about it. 🙂 Have a Happy New Year!

    susanbright said:
    January 1, 2012 at 5:04 pm

    So many wonderful books on your “potential” list. The Immortal life of Henrietta Lacks was a fascinating book. This year i am going to try to focus on books published in 2012. I was surprised when I saw lists of the best books for the past year and realized that as many books as I had read, I had hardly read any on the lists. Love your blog!

      Caroline responded:
      January 1, 2012 at 9:25 pm

      There’s always too many great books to pick from! Hmm, only books published in 2012 that almost doesn’t sound fair to so many other wonderful books. I’m just kidding. You can read whatever your heart decides. I’m glad you enjoy my blog. Thanks for your comment!

    Gracie Sam said:
    January 2, 2012 at 5:20 am

    Very nice post for this year Caroline! 🙂

    I started reading a pocketbook when I was 10 years old. I remember it was “Sweet Valley Kids – Teacher’s Pet”.

    And then when I turned 12, my dad gave me a big box full of second hand pocketbooks he collected from friends and colleagues at work in the military camp as he was in the Army. I was thrilled and amazed when I opened it! And he made me some bookshelves as well. I can still remember his hands working on them. Happy days 🙂

    I remember I have read Sweet Valley kids, teens and university books. Then went to reading Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys books. I frequently went into the library to read them. Teenage years 🙂

    From then on, I started reading anything I could get my hands into from encyclopedia to history books to classics to fiction..

    Some of the classics I like were “The Secret Garden”, “The Good Earth”. I have also read Jane Austen’s “Sense and Sensibility”.

    Currently I am reading “The Other Queen” by Philippa Gregory (a story of Mary Queen of Scots). http://graciesam.wordpress.com/reads/
    I have collected Philippa Gregory books… I am planning to buy her new book “The Lady of the Rivers”..

    Well enough of me blabbing..hehehe..
    I love your blog and I would continue reading your posts. Happy New Year!! All the best! 🙂

      Caroline responded:
      January 2, 2012 at 9:20 pm

      Gracie Sam, thanks for your very informative comment. 🙂 I never got into the Sweet Valley series, but I read The Babysitter’s Club which was similar. I also love the library! I haven’t read any books by Philppa Gregory, but historical fictions and royalties do interest me. Thanks for stopping by & giving your feedback. Happy New Year!

    Margie said:
    January 2, 2012 at 8:10 am

    Congratulations on our 200th post! I’ve been blogging for two years and my goal is 2 to 3 posts a week. I blogged daily for a while, but decided the quality was more important than the quantity!
    My grown children are avid regular readers like you, but my reading is much more sporadic. Last spring the grandchildren and I concentrated on the Harry Potter Series. The family book club attempted Jane Austen’s books, but many of the members found her work too slow paced. Then we read Oryx and Crake, which I found a bit depressing. So many books, so little time!

      Caroline responded:
      January 2, 2012 at 9:22 pm

      Yes, it’s difficult to pick which book to read! I love the idea of a family reading together. Did you discuss the books afterwards? It becomes reading into focus instead of the television. I haven’t read any Jane Austen yet. I love Harry Potter and I agree that all ages can enjoy. Happy reading & thanks for stopping by!

    Michelle Isenhoff said:
    January 2, 2012 at 6:37 pm

    My three favorites this past year (aside from Hunger Games, which everybody’s already read) were Moon Over Manifest, which Thiskidreviewsbooks already mentioned, Turtle in Paradise, by Jennifer L. Holm, which, incidently, is scheduled to post on my blog tomorrow, and Divergent, by Veronica Roth. 🙂

      Caroline responded:
      January 2, 2012 at 9:24 pm

      I read the first Hunger Games in the series. I’ve heard many things about Moon Over Manifest, so I’ll give that book a look. I’ll be sure to read your post about Turtle in Paradise. Aren’t both books Newbery Awards? Thanks for stopping by & happy reading!

    Cedric de Alicoque said:
    January 6, 2012 at 4:00 pm

    This will be piece of cake for you! Once started is hard to stop!

      Caroline responded:
      January 6, 2012 at 4:46 pm

      Oh, I agree. It seems odd to not make a post every day. I enjoyed the daily challenge, but sometimes it was more work than fun. Thanks for stopping by.

I'd love to hear from you! Have a great day!

