2011 Book Reflections

Posted on Updated on

Personally, 2011 has been a wonderful book year! I always enjoy keeping track of what I’ve read, rating books, and sharing recommendations. Similar to Word Press’ daily post, goodreads encouraged readers to set a reading goal for 2011. Mine wasn’t as daring as other readers, but I completed and read beyond my goal. I’m now going to share my favorite books from 2011. These aren’t full book reviews, instead just mini highlights.

Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas

True this book was huge, but it’s been on my ‘to-read’ list for a very long time. I’ve always enjoyed the movie and since the book is normally better, I decided to conquer the book. Well, I can’t watch the movie anymore since it doesn’t give the book justice. There’s a little of everything: romance, revenge, suspense, murder, and more. The book took me about a month to read, but it was highly worth it. I also listened to the book, which added to the excitement.

The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón

I would describe The Shadow of the Wind as a book lovers book. Many scenes are within an old bookstore where all the books have a soul. The book is full of suspense and mystery. I don’t want to share too much, but this is a book that I couldn’t put down and I was sad when it was finished.

A Dog’s Purpose by W. Bruce Cameron

Perhaps I was attracted to the book, since the black Labrador on the cover is similar to my own dog. The entire book is from the dog’s perspective how he tries to please his owners with a purpose. The book had me laughing aloud and crying. I enjoyed A Dog’s Purpose so much that I’ve already read it again. If you’re hesitant to read this book, since all dogs in dog books seem to die I’d reconsider this book. It has an interesting twist.

A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith

This book is a coming of age story about a girl living in Brooklyn, New York. She experiences struggles and takes comfort in reading. She’s very curious about her world and wants to gain information.

 

 

 Clara and Mr. Tiffany by Susan Vreeland

This book takes place the turn of the twentieth century in New York City. It is the true story of a woman’s relationship with Louis Comfort Tiffany and stained glass.

 

 

 The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind: Creating Currents of Electricity and Hope by William Kamkwamba and Bryan Mealer

I first read this book, because my library had a community reads together. It is the true story about a young boy living in Malawi, who deals with poverty, famine, and daily struggles to survive. He’s forced to leave school, since his family can’t afford the tuition. He continues to read and learn from the library. He desires to help his family and community and creates a windmill to produce electricity. The story is very inspirational and makes you want to keep trying to reach your goals.

New Authors: A new and enjoyable author that I read this year is Lisa See. I read Shanghai GirlsDreams of Joy, and Snow Flower and the Secret Fan. Her books focus upon family relationships, historical fiction, and Chinese influences.

 

 

Another new author I discovered is Carl Hiaasen. I read Scat and Hoot. These books were for middle school age that were mysteries focused upon environmental issues.

In 2011, I purchased a kindle and I never thought I would read from an electric device. I read about twenty books on my kindle, but I still enjoy ‘real’ books.

I also started this blog in the middle of 2011, which encouraged me to read more diverse books and write reviews. It gives me great pleasure to recommend books for others to enjoy. I’m always looking for new books, so please feel free to share your own recommendations. Hopefully, 2012 brings more wonderful books to enjoy!

12 thoughts on “2011 Book Reflections

    Kriti Godey said:
    December 31, 2011 at 1:12 am

    “A Tree Grows in Brooklyn” is on my to-be-read pile, glad to know that you enjoyed it!

      Caroline responded:
      December 31, 2011 at 10:39 am

      It’s a great book! I would plan to read it soon. Thanks for your comment & have a happy new year!

    Michelle Isenhoff said:
    December 31, 2011 at 5:15 am

    We’ve had a very similar year! Though I’ve blogged longer, this year I gave my blog a definite literary focus. I, too, have read beyond my expectations, including some books I never would have ventured into before.

    You’ve given me a few new titles for my own TBR list. Thanks for the fabulous content, and have a great 2012.

      Caroline responded:
      December 31, 2011 at 10:51 am

      Thanks, I enjoy sharing my opinion about books to help others find a good book to read. There’s the right ‘book fit’ for everyone if you know where to look. You have a great blog and I’ll check it out more! Thanks for your comment & have a great new year!

    thiskidreviewsbooks said:
    December 31, 2011 at 7:13 am

    My mom just got me The Count of Monte Cristo to read (the Penguin CLassic version). She said it was one of her favorite books.

      Caroline responded:
      December 31, 2011 at 10:10 am

      Wow, a ten year old reading The Count of Monte Cristo is very impressive! I know you’re a great reader though! It’s a great book & I’m sure you’ll enjoy it!

    Kate Kresse said:
    December 31, 2011 at 8:15 am

    I love your blog and approach. You light up the world with it.Therefore I am giving you the blog award I created. It is The Candle Lighter Award. The details and the badge widget are here: http://believeanyway.wordpress.com/2011/12/18/creation-of-new-blog-award-the-candle-lighter-award/
    Thank you for the gift of your wonderful blog.

      Caroline responded:
      December 31, 2011 at 10:20 am

      Thanks, I’m flattered that you enjoy my blog. I’ll post the award soon. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

    Northern Narratives said:
    December 31, 2011 at 1:18 pm

    Thank you for this post. I love to read and I see a couple of books here that are new to me. I can’t wait to read them :)Happy 2012

      Caroline responded:
      December 31, 2011 at 3:06 pm

      I wanted to revisit my favorite books from this year. I’m glad some of them caught your interest. 🙂 Have a happy new year!

    Jeff Walker said:
    January 3, 2012 at 2:11 pm

    I have always enjoyed the recent movie version of The Count of Monte Christo with Jim Caveziel and Richard Harris. And then a few autumns ago I tackled the book. It seemed to take me forever to get through but it was worth it! A fantastic book that has forever rendered the movie almost to the status of being a different story. Last spring my wife and I attended the musical Les Miserables for the first time and I fell in love with it. On my list this year is to read Victor Hugo’s book. Great list and a great blog. Congrats on your 200th post!

      Caroline responded:
      January 3, 2012 at 3:35 pm

      I can’t watch the movie version of The Count of Monte Cristo, because it just doesn’t do it justice. It’s a thick book with a little of everything. It’s a good reason why we shouldn’t be afraid of a book’s length. Thanks, I’m glad you enjoy my blog. Thanks for stopping by & Happy New Year!

I'd love to hear from you! Have a great day!

