Weekly Photo Challenge: Celebration

Posted on

This week’s photo challenge is celebration. Of course, my first thought was to post various Christmas photos since it’s right in front of my eyes. I searched my China photos and found these mooncakes. Mooncakes are traditionally eaten during the Mid-Autumn FestivalΒ for lunar worship and moon watching around the middle of September. They are considered a delicacy with a thick paste inside and often a whole egg yolk to symbolize the full moon. There’s often Chinese characters on the top that may state the filling, the bakery name, moon symbols, and additional decorations. There were packages of mooncakes everywhere, so of course I had to buy and taste some. After several years, I’m surprised I still have the package wrappings. I couldn’t read Chinese, so I’m not sure what my mooncakes represent. I honestly didn’t like the taste. It was very dense and wasn’t sweet. If you read Chinese characters feel free to state what it means.

14 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Celebration

    dadirri7 said:
    December 12, 2011 at 9:54 pm

    what a wonderful idea, glad you found the mooncake photos!

      Caroline responded:
      December 12, 2011 at 9:58 pm

      I just didn’t want to post more Christmas-like photos, since it’s so common. I’m going to have to travel somewhere soon, since these photos have given me so much inspiration. Thanks for your comment.

    jakesprinter said:
    December 13, 2011 at 1:50 am

    Hi, Caroline What a Yummy Mooncakes πŸ™‚

      Caroline responded:
      December 13, 2011 at 7:28 pm

      It appears tasty, but I didn’t like it. πŸ™‚ Thanks for stopping by & have a good day.

    Madman said:
    December 13, 2011 at 3:04 am

    Lovely moonkakes πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing the celebration with the rest of us!
    Merry Christmas from Switzerland,
    – Pierre

      Caroline responded:
      December 13, 2011 at 7:29 pm

      I’m glad you like the photos. Merry Christmas to you too! Thanks for your comment. πŸ™‚

    Northern Narratives said:
    December 13, 2011 at 9:07 am

    Great idea for celebration πŸ™‚

      Caroline responded:
      December 13, 2011 at 7:30 pm

      I wanted to try something new for a celebration. Thanks for your comment & have a great day! πŸ™‚

    pancakeashes said:
    December 13, 2011 at 11:01 am

    Hmm, mooncake: I am a real mooncake addict πŸ™‚

      Caroline responded:
      December 13, 2011 at 7:31 pm

      A mooncake addict huh, perhaps you could help what the symbols represent. Your blog name is very creative. Thanks for stopping by. πŸ™‚

    Amar Naik said:
    December 13, 2011 at 3:35 pm

    looks delicious. thanks for sharing

      Caroline responded:
      December 13, 2011 at 7:32 pm

      I’m glad you like the idea. Thanks for your comment & have a great day!

    Gracie Sam said:
    December 14, 2011 at 7:02 am

    I like mooncakes as I am used to eating Chinese food and I love Chinese cuisine. Depends on the filling too, I like pandan or cream cheese filling. Great post! πŸ™‚

      Caroline responded:
      December 16, 2011 at 5:04 pm

      I must have had an ‘interesting’ flavor, since I didn’t enjoy it. Thanks for your comment & have a great day!

I'd love to hear from you! Have a great day!

