Book Review: I Know an Old Lady Who Swallowed a Pie

Posted on Updated on

I Know an Old Lady Who Swallowed a Pie

by Alison Jackson, illustrated by Judith Byron Schachner

Ages 4-7, 32 pages

Humorous

This book is similar to I Know an Old Lady Who Swallowed a Fly as she continues to eat more and more. It begins with an old lady who ate a Thanksgiving pie that was really too dry. She then drinks cider to moisten the dry pie. The humorous tale continues as she eats squash, a whole turkey, an entire cake, but what puts her over the top is some bread. The old lady becomes so huge at the end that she’s in a Thanksgiving parade. It’s a fun book that I’m sure most will get a laugh at. Perhaps you’ll think twice before going up for seconds.

 

 

9 thoughts on “Book Review: I Know an Old Lady Who Swallowed a Pie

    thiskidreviewsbooks said:
    November 7, 2011 at 3:21 am

    I think I’d rather swallow a pie than a fly!

      Caroline responded:
      November 7, 2011 at 6:42 pm

      Yes, all the food would have me sick. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by.

    Angeline M said:
    November 7, 2011 at 6:55 am

    Boy, will this ever give me second thoughts about going for seconds on Thanksgiving Day.

      Caroline responded:
      November 7, 2011 at 6:42 pm

      Oh, I wouldn’t worry too much. Perhaps just take smaller second portions. 🙂 Thanks for your comment.

    Sempre Hunokeli said:
    November 7, 2011 at 7:57 am

    The old lady who swallowed a fly is one of my favourite stories, I’ll be sure to look for this one too!

      Caroline responded:
      November 7, 2011 at 6:43 pm

      I’m sure you’ll enjoy this book if you already like the fly version. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

    imakeeper said:
    November 7, 2011 at 1:53 pm

    What a lovely review! Makes me hungry for a big Thanksgiving meal but also slightly nervy about getting second or third helpings… hmmmm 😛

      Caroline responded:
      November 7, 2011 at 6:50 pm

      All the Thanksgiving food talk sure does get my mouth watering too. 🙂 Just make the second or third helpings small. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by.

    […] version of the ‘There was an old lady…” I wrote another post about a lady who ate a pumpkin pie. I think these books are very humorous and readers always beg to hear it again. In this version a […]

I'd love to hear from you! Have a great day!

