Designing a Dr.Seuss-like Fountain

Posted on Updated on

Regarding the Fountain: A Tale in Letters, of Liars, and Leaks

by Kate Klise, illustrated by M. Sarah Klise

Ages 8+, 138 pages

I LOVED this book for many reasons! I found myself smiling and laughing aloud while reading it, so I cringe putting on actual ‘age’ on this book. The entire book is done in the form of letters, postcards, memos, artwork, and newspapers. I love reading letters, perhaps since hardly anyone writes personal letters anymore with today’s technology. A middle school principal asks for a new drinking fountain to be built, since the present fountain is old and leaky. He contacts Florence Waters who designs custom water fountains and this is when the fun begins. Florence’s designs are unique and she’s very passionate about her designs, so she asks for student creations. Communication begins between students and Florence. There are wonderful illustrations of students’ fountain ideas. Florence travels around the world for fountain designs, so children learn about new discoveries. Lies are slowly unveiled as students research Dry Creek’s history and gather more information about the fountain. At times I probably looked odd reading the book, since I was reading it upside for pictures. Also, the various letter examples help children learn how to write letters. I described it as a ‘Dr.Seuss‘ fountain, because Florence Waters doesn’t make ordinary fountains instead her only limitations are what she thinks. I highly recommend this book!

4 thoughts on “Designing a Dr.Seuss-like Fountain

    jama said:
    September 29, 2011 at 3:05 pm

    Oh, this looks good. I love letters, too :).

      Caroline responded:
      September 29, 2011 at 3:29 pm

      It was a fun read! If you enjoy reading letters, then this book will surely delight you. Thanks for the comment. 🙂

    Dayle Fraschilla said:
    October 1, 2011 at 8:22 am

    Ooohh, this is definitely going on my list for my daughter! (and me :D)

      Caroline responded:
      October 1, 2011 at 10:05 am

      I think you’ll love the book! I had trouble putting it into a ‘category’ since it’s not a chapter book. Lots of fun. 🙂

I'd love to hear from you! Have a great day!

