Book Review: Arthur’s Banned Book

Posted on Updated on

Arthur and the Scare-Your-Pants-Off Club

by Marc Brown

Ages 6-8, 58 pages

I looked for books about challenged or banned books and found this book for younger ages. The Arthur series is popular, so the book will interest young readers. Arthur and his friends love the book series Scare-Your-Pants-Off Club (not a real series) and are disappointed when they discover their favorite books have been banned from the library. The PAWS (Parents Against Weird Stories) believe the books are too scary for children and cause nightmares. They don’t understand how anyone would ban their favorite books and take action to get  the books back in the library. I liked the book, because it was simple and fun that introduced the idea of banned books and importance to allow people to read what they enjoy.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Arthur’s Banned Book

    Angeline M said:
    September 25, 2011 at 8:19 am

    I am so glad I found your blog! My husband and I are revving up the reading for our 8 yeard old grandson, who would much rather play video games. You are a wonderful “find” for us. Thanks!

      Caroline responded:
      September 25, 2011 at 8:41 am

      I’m so glad you enjoy my blog! That’s my goal to share the joy of reading. You gain so much more through books than with video games and tv. I love hearing children say ‘please can we read more’.

    […] Yesterday’s post had a scary book banned within an Arthur book. Today, I’m highlighting an actual scary book that was banned. This is a collection of very short stories. I thought it was scary and fun, because the stories tell you how you should read them such as jump, scream, or talk quietly. These stories are a collection of folklore and scary tales told from around the world. There’s also More Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark and Scary Stories 3. […]

I'd love to hear from you! Have a great day!

