Weekly Photo Challenge: Fall

Posted on Updated on

I struggled with this week’s photo challenge: fall. There are many interpretations and I decided to focus on the season. However, I had a ‘problem’ because the weather where I live has been warm this September and many trees are evergreen that don’t change colors. So, I thought what other changes occur that signal a new season? Store displays change with each season and during fall you see harvest colors and pumpkins.Β  These photos were taken at a local store.

 

Here’s another attempt at fall: weekly photo challenge fall2

28 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Fall

    IsobelandCat said:
    September 24, 2011 at 1:59 pm

    I especially like the second picture. The contrast between the colours of the flowers and the galvanised containers is very effective.
    There’s something very satisfying about the orderliness of it too.

      Caroline responded:
      September 24, 2011 at 3:10 pm

      Yes, I thought the bright colors against the steel grey was also interesting. Thanks πŸ™‚

    Jo Bryant said:
    September 24, 2011 at 2:07 pm

    such a variety

      Caroline responded:
      September 24, 2011 at 3:06 pm

      Yes, I couldn’t decide which photos to include. Thanks for the comment.

    Brenda Spiller said:
    September 24, 2011 at 2:09 pm

    Gorgeous colourful photos!

      Caroline responded:
      September 24, 2011 at 3:07 pm

      Thanks, yes the fall season doesn provide many beautiful colors.

    jakesprinter said:
    September 24, 2011 at 2:10 pm

    Great colors combination in your photo nice shot:)

      Caroline responded:
      September 24, 2011 at 3:08 pm

      There were many vibrant orange shades to pick. Thanks for the comment.

    northernnarratives said:
    September 24, 2011 at 2:16 pm
      Caroline responded:
      September 24, 2011 at 3:05 pm

      Gosh, thanks for the nomination! I’ll need to find some more blogs I love before accepting the award. πŸ™‚ Thanks for the comment.

    photographer6 said:
    September 24, 2011 at 3:24 pm

    love the japanese (or is it chinese?) lanterns. One of my favorite flowers of the season! Thanks for sharing!! πŸ™‚

      Caroline responded:
      September 24, 2011 at 3:34 pm

      Oh, they’re actually not lanterns. It’s a plant that appears to look like fall lanterns. Perhaps I should have made a note. Thanks for the comment.

    photographer6 said:
    September 24, 2011 at 4:33 pm

    Caroline, they are a plant commonly referred to as Chinese Lanterns. http://www.herbcompanion.com/garden-gnome/discovering-chinese-lantern-plants-physalis-alkekengi.aspx πŸ™‚ My mom plants them every year, and they are some of my favorites. They usually stay in bloom until the first snow falls.

      Caroline responded:
      September 24, 2011 at 5:04 pm

      Thanks for the information. I guess I should look closer at exactly what I’m taking a photo of next time. I’m sure they brighten the winter months.

    dadirri7 said:
    September 24, 2011 at 10:29 pm

    love the soft colours, beautifully photographed!

      Caroline responded:
      September 24, 2011 at 11:17 pm

      Yes, the fall season does have such a variety of warm colors. Thanks for the comment.

    pix & kardz said:
    September 24, 2011 at 10:57 pm

    hi Caroline,
    wonderful images – so cheerful. I really like the chinese lanterns as well. but all of them together are defining for fall. they remind me of the public market in Seattle. that is usually one of my favourite places to visit when i visit your great city.

      pix & kardz said:
      September 24, 2011 at 10:58 pm

      oops – i also wanted to say thank you for stopping by my fall corner, and for leaving such kind words behind! much appreciated.

      Caroline responded:
      September 24, 2011 at 11:21 pm

      I’m glad you like the photos. I didn’t know the plants were called Chinese lanterns until others told me. I need to check everything before I make a post. Yes, I was going for a farmer’s market ‘feel’ without actually going to a farmer’s market. Thanks for the comment.

        pix & kardz said:
        September 24, 2011 at 11:33 pm

        thank you for subscribing to my blog! am so thrilled!! πŸ˜€
         
        also, just a thought – I don’t think we always know everything when we post. sometimes we don’t even know that there is something that we don’t know – until it is pointed out to us. that’s part of the wonder and the joy of blogging – that we can learn from others as well as share what we know. so no pressure! happy blogging!

          Caroline responded:
          September 25, 2011 at 8:33 am

          I enjoy your blog and photos that you share. Yes, it is the wonder of blogging to learn new things because you can basically find a blog about everything. Well, I try my best to share information that I think others would enjoy or learn something. Thanks for the comment. πŸ™‚

    beachtimebygones said:
    September 25, 2011 at 3:13 am

    Agreed! I didnt know if they were japanese or chinese lanterns until I looked it up…LOL. Some kind of lanterns. haha. All the photos are beautiful—you did a fantastic job. If anyone asked me what types of trees were in my “Fall” photo I would be at a loss, other than pines. πŸ™‚ Thank you for posting. I always love to see others pics on the weekly photo challenge.

      Caroline responded:
      September 25, 2011 at 8:25 am

      The Chinese Lanterns would be a great plant to have in your garden, since they are so unique. (At least to me they’re unique.) I also live in an environment with many pines and evergreens (My state is nicknamed the ‘Evergreen State’.) Yes, I’m always excited to discover the new weekly photo challenge. Everyone has so many ideas and photos to share. Thanks for your comment.

    Angeline M said:
    September 25, 2011 at 6:12 am

    Wonderful colors. And thanks for introduciing me to Chinese Lanterns….I have never seen that plant and love the look. I’ll have to investigate and see if they would survive where I live.

      Caroline responded:
      September 25, 2011 at 8:18 am

      The Chinese Lanterns seem to be the popular photo which is funny because I didn’t even know what the plants were. When you take a second glance they do appear like lanterns and would be fun to ‘brighten’ the garden. Thanks for the comment.

    Gracie Sam said:
    September 26, 2011 at 6:12 am

    Lovely colours and i love the flowers! πŸ™‚

      Caroline responded:
      September 26, 2011 at 2:46 pm

      Thanks, the start of fall brings many beautiful colors. Thanks for the comment.

    Weekly Photo Challenge: Fall2 | Children's Books & More said:
    September 26, 2011 at 3:28 pm

    […] my first attempt at Fall: weekly photo challenge: fall 47.606209 -122.332071 Rate this: Share this:TwitterFacebookStumbleUponEmailLinkedInRedditLike […]

I'd love to hear from you! Have a great day!

