James and the Giant Peach

Posted on Updated on

James and the Giant Peach

by Roald Dahl

Ages 8+, 126 pages

Genre: Fantasy

I was first interested in James and the Giant Peach, since it was on the challenged books list. I was curious as to why this book could be challenged. This was a delightful book about a boy named James Henry Trotter who lives a terrible life with two aunts who blame him for everything and don’t allow any pleasures. He comes across some magic crystals and the next the day a peach grows larger. James explores the giant peach and meets new friends: Centipede, Earthworm, Green Grasshopper, Miss Spider, Silkworm and Glow-worm. Together with his new creature friends they face struggles and adventures. Each creature does their part for survival while living upon the giant peach.

Reasons for being challenged:

Parents challenged James and the Giant Peach for references to the aunts acting like witches toward James and the word ass appears. The courts unanimously retained the book. One school superintendent stated that the book was a fantasy about good triumphing over evil.

Reference: Banned in the U.S.A. A Reference Guide to Book Censorship in Schools and Public Libraries by Herbert N. Foerstel

3 thoughts on “James and the Giant Peach

    Dayle Fraschilla said:
    September 25, 2011 at 6:23 am

    I read “James and the Giant Peach” in grade school (along with every other Roald Dahl book I could get my hands on) and I loved in. I read it again as an adult and loved it even more. This was yet another book I was shocked to find out had been banned and challenged.

      Caroline responded:
      September 25, 2011 at 8:09 am

      I was also shocked to discover that James and the Giant Peach was challenged. I never read the book before I researched different books to highlight this week. Roald Dahl has so many wonderful books, I’m now reading Matilda. Thanks for the comment. 🙂

    […] “James and the Giant Peach” has also hit the commonly challenged/banned books list. If you want to read more about that, check out this blog. […]

I'd love to hear from you! Have a great day!

