What should I read next?

Posted on Updated on

Imagine yourself finishing a wonderful book and now you’re searching for your next read. I often have a difficultly finding the right book after reading a great book. I may have ended with a high and want to continue that feeling or the book left me feeling low and I need a boost. I have ‘to-read’ book lists, but I then need to find the book that ‘fits’ from the many on my list.ย  We’ve all asked others ‘What’s a good book you’ve read? Do you have any recommendations?’ hoping the book will spark our interest. Pick up a book and look at the back cover. Most likely there’s a few book reviews that tell you, in their opinion, why it’s a great book. It’s a plus if there are authors who I’ve previously read, so a chance that I’ll enjoy this new book in my hands. I also search for my next book onย  Amazon.com and type the title then check out the ‘customers who bought this item also bought’, however my problem is I’ve often read many of those recommendations. I think most readers have this similar problem to find the next great book.

So is it okay to compare our last book read to the next great read? I tell myself that it’s a new book, so I should mentally have a fresh start. Perhaps I should read a different genre to get a completely new perspective from my last book. I could follow the advice of C.S. Lewis to read an old book before reading a new book. The reader then knows exactly what they’re ‘getting into’ and when the old book is finished a new perspective can begin. So, how do you decide your next great read? How do you mentally start fresh each time you open that first page of a new book? Do you take the recommendations from others or search the shelves alone? I’m always looking for new books to read, so leave any suggestions.

It is a good rule after reading a new book, never to allow yourself another new one till you have read an old one in between.
– C.S. Lewis

The worst thing about new books is that they keep us from reading the old ones.
– Joseph Joubert

9 thoughts on “What should I read next?

    Mariajose said:
    September 12, 2011 at 12:38 pm

    Have you ever read “In Cold Blood” by Truman Capote? I love that book. I’ve read it about 3 or 4 times and I watch the movie on how the book was made. Also, John Grisham books are some of my favorites.

      Caroline responded:
      September 12, 2011 at 9:47 pm

      Wow, reading the book that many times must mean it’s a good book. I’ve heard good things about that book. I’ll look into it. Thanks for the comment and recommendation. ๐Ÿ™‚

    gypsydoodles said:
    September 13, 2011 at 2:47 am

    For the record, i have not tried reading a book which i already read before. i envy those people who have the luxury of time of reading the books they love more than once. =) nevertheless, i also have this attitude of not clinging to the books i just finished(just not yet) so i always have this fresh jump start on a new book i am going to read. yay! great post you have here!

      Caroline responded:
      September 13, 2011 at 8:55 am

      Thanks, I’m glad you liked my post. You’re lucky that you have no problems jumping right into the next book. I only reread my favorite books that surprisingly still make me laugh or cry even when I know it will happen. What are you reading now? Thanks for your comment.

    Arnab said:
    September 13, 2011 at 2:58 am

    Have you ever tried letting the effects of the great book wear off?
    I do that, after I read a book that I liked, I don’t jump to the next book, I give some time…analyse the points of the plot myself. Then gradually after the craze of the book wears off, I read the next book.

      Caroline responded:
      September 13, 2011 at 8:51 am

      That’s a good idea to let the book slowly leave my thoughts. Perhaps I should write a review after the books I’ve read, so I can analyze what I just read. I just get so excited to jump to the next book, since I have so many waiting to be read. Do you have a recommendation? Thanks for the comment.

        Arnab said:
        September 15, 2011 at 3:52 am

        I am very awefull in the suggestions department so I don’t know if I could be of much help. Maybe you can read an old book. Not like a book which is already read but which was written about 30 40 years ago. Maybe you can observe what authors used to think then and now, etc. Just a suggestion.
        Regards

          Caroline responded:
          September 15, 2011 at 10:38 am

          Oh don’t sweat it for book recommendations. I try not to just read books that are popular or on the best seller list. That’s a good idea to compare an author’s writing over time. Thanks for the comment. ๐Ÿ™‚

    […] a focus. However, I also miss sharing my general thoughts. I wrote a post from September, about what I should read next. Sometimes I can’t match my next book to the greatness of my finished book, so I thought of […]

I'd love to hear from you! Have a great day!

