You’re doing such a good job!

Posted on Updated on

Everyone loves being praised, mentioned, and recognized. However, I wondered how much praise truly makes us happy and satisfied? How much do we write for ourselves or the pleasure of others? This thought came to me after I examined my comments and what I thought were comments.

Praise is probably the best form of behavior management in the classroom: “I love how Sara is listening and waiting for directions”. Immediately other students want to be recognized and given positive praise. The greatest praise is genuine and specific, instead of “Good job Sara”. People also praise and criticize as an ‘Oreo’: two positives surrounding a negative comment. Although, I doubt many blogger comments are negative.

I won’t lie. I enjoy comments and ‘likes’ as much as anyone, but does it truly matter if others enjoy my posts enough to comment or like? I notice spam comments and get somewhat excited, since it could be actual comments. I take a peak, but of course the chance is very slim that it’s true. Journal writing is probably the only writing format that’s just for yourself.

Overall, individuals should work to please themselves whether there’s any praise. Do you best and you’ll likely get the praise from the most important person: yourself.

(P.S. Don’t feel the need to comment or like from this post.)

Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don’t matter, and those who matter don’t mind.

– Dr. Seuss

I'd love to hear from you! Have a great day!

