The True Story of the 3 Little Pigs

Posted on Updated on

The True Story of the 3 Little Pigs!  by  Jon  Scieszka

ages 6-9, book genre: fairy tale

The book is 29 pages with a large picture and normally one paragraph on each page.

I’ve forgotten how many times I’ve read this to children. Just as the title states that it’s the ‘true story’ of the 3 little pigs & the big wolf. However, this story is based on the wolf’s point of view so of course he doesn’t think he’s big and bad. I like this book, because even though I’ve read it numerous times it still makes me laugh from a new perspective. Scieszka has written other books in this similar humor, such as The Stinky Cheese Man. It has some references to eating pigs, so younger children may be surprised at first when characters are eaten. I also used this book in a classroom with writing and the students wrote a new twist to a story that’s been told before. I haven’t been in a classroom where the students didn’t enjoy this well-known story with a new perspective.

opening page:

Everybody knows the story of the Three Little Pigs. Or at least they think they do. But I’ll let you in on a little secret. The real story is…I was framed!

I'd love to hear from you! Have a great day!

