Celebrate Library Card Sign-Up Month!

Posted on Updated on

September is National Library Sign-up Month. Oh I’ve had a city library card for years, which I frequently use. Yesterday, I received my library card for my entire county. Hopefully, I’ll get books faster on two waiting lists. There were two women in front of me also getting library cards that sparked the excitement even more. I simply presented my driver’s license as proof of residency and I was given my new magical library card. Of course it’s magical since it has so many uses. I probably picked the card geared for children, yet it made me smile and states ‘I’m a born reader!’. My fingers glided over the simple plastic card and I smiled as I thought of the possibilities.

IMG_20130911_114923_557

How do I get a library card?

You need to present a current photo ID and proof residency. Some libraries grant temporary cards for students and visitors. Children 14 and younger can also receive a library card with a parent/guardian signature.

What can I do at the library?

  1. Get to know your librarian, the ultimate search engine @ your library.
  2. Update your Facebook page.
  3. Research new job opportunities.
  4. Find a list of childcare centers in your area.
  5. Learn about local candidates for office.
  6. Pick up voter registration information.
  7. Check out your favorite graphic novel.
  8. Pick up a DVD.
  9. Get wireless access.
  10. Participate in a community forum.
  11. Find out how to navigate the Internet.
  12. Prepare your resume.
  13. Get new ideas for redecorating your house.
  14. Get a list of community organizations.
  15. Attend a lecture or workshop.
  16. Hear a local author reading his/her latest novel.
  17. Join a book discussion group.
  18. Attend preschool story hour with your child.
  19. Get homework help.
  20. Look up all kinds of health information.
  21. Research the purchase of a new car.
  22. Trek to another planet in a Sci-Fi novel.
  23. Call the reference desk if you have a question.
  24. Research your term paper.
  25. Learn about the history or your city or town.
  26. Decide which computer to buy using a consumer guide.
  27. Check your stock portfolio.
  28. Read a newspaper from another country.
  29. Borrow or download an audiobook for your next road trip or commute.
  30. Use the library’s resources to start a small business.
  31. See a new art exhibit.
  32. Volunteer as a literacy tutor.
  33. Find a new recipe.
  34. Ask for a recommended reading list for your kids.
  35. Make photocopies.
  36. Get a book from interlibrary loan.
  37. Enroll your child in a summer reading program.
  38. Take a computer class.
  39. Hear a poetry reading.
  40. Take out the latest fashion magazine.
  41. Enjoy a concert.
  42. Trace your family tree.
  43. Check out a special collection of rare books.
  44. Check out a legal question or issue.
  45. Find out how to file a consumer complaint.
  46. Learn about home improvement.
  47. Borrow some sheet music.
  48. Learn how to use a database or computerized catalog.
  49. Find the latest romance paperback.
  50. Pick up tax forms.
  51. Connect with other people in the community.
  52. Find a quiet spot, curl up with a book and enjoy.

Many of these activities don’t require a library card, so you can still participate. These are just a few ideas to fully use your library!

Check out these sites to learn more about how to get the most from your library.

http://www.ilovelibraries.org/

http://atyourlibrary.org/

http://www.ala.org/ (American Library Association)

2 thoughts on “Celebrate Library Card Sign-Up Month!

    thiskidreviewsbooks said:
    September 13, 2013 at 4:26 am

    I like #52! :D

      Caroline responded:
      September 15, 2013 at 10:57 am

      I also love #52. I like to curl up anywhere with a good book! :)

I'd love to hear from you! Have a great day!

